Relabel the time dimension

As a model builder I want to have the ability to relabel the time dimension using a specific property/alias so that I don't need to create extra complexity and I can use all the benefits/functions of the time dimension to meet the users's requirements.

I will know this is successful if I could rename FY18 to YearXX and Jan1 to Month1, and so on.

Benefit : Adding extra lookups/modules doesn't always meet the visualisation requirements and adds complexity. Also, it will be possible to use the time dimension and all its functions even in situations where, for example, there is a strict requirement to "sanitise" the time dimension making it generic.

41 votes

Delivered · Last Updated

Comments

• Miran
    edited December 2022
  • Rebecca
    edited December 2022
  • Rebecca
    edited December 2022
  • bradmalis
    edited December 2022

I would like to upvote this idea.  I have a customer that uses a Feb - Jan fiscal year.  They label the fiscal year based on when it starts.  We are presently in FY 19, which started in Feb 19 and ends in Jan 20.  They would like to label Jan 20 as Jan 19 so they can see all of the months in the fiscal year with the same year on it.  There is a related topic, and i will upvote that as well.  

• GrahamJordan
    edited December 2022

Bump. We need this!

• CommunityMember83188
    edited December 2022

A great idea - this would life easier in no end of ways.

• Alessio_Pagliano
    edited December 2022

@Manuela_Apostol , @usman.zia , @Yugnesh.Patel , @MagaliP , @Rich.Buttivant  sorry for the sneaky tagging. Have you seen this sort of requirement and finding the workaround not ideal ? If you agree this would be helpful...could you help with your kudos ? Feel free to do the same with me, whenever needed! 

Thanks,

Alessio Pagliano

• usman.zia
    edited December 2022

Hi @Alessio_Pagliano 

You have my support! 

It would be useful to see this sort of functionality! 

• Alessio_Pagliano