Creating Formulae that are specific to a version

Hi

Apologies if this question is over simple, but I'm fairly new to Anaplan, although I've done the certification. I'm trying to create a cell that calculates differently based on wheteher it is the actual or forecast version.  I thought I had found the solution with the following article on "add version formula"

https://community.anaplan.com/t5/Modeling/Add-Version-Formula/ta-p/12351

The article explains fairly clearly what to do, but doesn't explain exactly what the result will be.

When I create fomulae using this method, the cells contain zeros.  Where I apply it to cells that had a non-version specific formula before it retains the answer from that formula.  Could someone help me understand what I might have done wrong, or perhaps help me understand if this is the right way of producing version-specific cells. I have tested that the formula I enter works when used as a general formula.

Tagged:

Best Answer

• s.jansenidw
    Answer ✓

Hi Dgardner,

I never used Version formula before, and I think you also don't need it in this case.

I will try to explain the two options which always works for me:

Option 1: If you want a line item to be input for Actuals or Forecast and calculation for the other version:

Just write a formula, and then set "Formula Scope" (in the blueprint) to the version where it should apply to. Then the other version remains input based (within the same line item).

Option 2: If you want to have different calculations for forecast or actuals within the same line item:

Write the formula with the following IF statement:

IF ISACTUALVERSION() THEN "put formula for actual version here" ELSE "put formula for forecast version here"

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any questions.

Answers

• Hi

What are the different formulae for each version that you are trying to create? Could you include some screen shots?

David

• Did you try to write a formula with the following statement?: