ALM Productions Lists

Hi All, 

This seems a basic question but I would really appreciate your collective inputs. What would be the implications if I integrate ALM on our current models without tagging lists as productions lists? Some formulas have direct references to lists which are not allowed when lists are set as production lists. Editing the formulas to comply is not on the table as there are many computations that has direct references.

Would really appreciate your help as I'm new to Anaplan as well.

Edit: To add to my previous inquiry, what are key indicators to consider if we would benefit or not from Anaplan ALM given our current situation. 

Thanks in advance!

Jad

Best Answers

• Hi @CommunityMember88511 ,

I'll recommend you to go through https://community.anaplan.com/t5/Best-Practices/Setting-production-lists/ta-p/19284 where in to take care of direct reference you'll find two options 

1. (Option 1) Add List Selections module to be used in LOOKUPs for 1:1 mappings ,and 
    2. (Option 2) Modeling for complex logic and many to many relationship

Hope it Helps.

Thanks

• LipChean_Soh
    Answer ✓

Hi,

ALM should be implemented as part of every Anaplan implementation, the benefits are obvious:

1. There'll be segregation of duties between model builders and business users.

2. Model builders can build freely in Dev without fear of a massive roll back.

3. Business users won't suffer massive roll back in the middle of a budget cycle.

Having said the above, whether a List should be a Production or Structural list comes down to whether a List member is to be added during run time/ production or added through ALM.

In most cases, it's quite clear whether a list is Production or Structural. Production List members are created in Source System or by business users during Production, whereas Structural List members are more slowly changing or fixed, and we can rely on Model Builders to add in Dev and 'Compare & Sync'.