Distinguish between List Item or Line Item

Dear Members,

I am new to Anaplan, so I would request your generous help.

Order Number or Transaction Number is a Line Item or List Item?

And if the answer is List.

Then let me know, if millions of transactions happen daily in any Retail chain or  Bank.

And if we create Numbered List for the Transaction, after 1 Billion records, how do we manage to store and update the data.

(i.e. How to remove and store old Transactions or Orders. such that we can accommodate new records).

Best Answers

• usman.zia
    Answer ✓

Hi @Marble_Rock 

The answer to your first question would be list item. 

The answer to your second question has many steps and really depends on what you're trying to achieve so I will be broad.

To load in transactional data, you first need to identify the attributes and properties within the data that make it unique. For example this could be a code such as 1,2,3,4 for each row of data or a unique transaction number. It could also be a concatenation of a few unique properties such as product, date, amount. When combined this must uniquely identify each row. 

If you are changing the data regularly and do need to store the previous load of data you need to identify the frequency is it daily, weekly, monthly or quaterly etc. If you want to store the data by this time frame then you need to setup the import module by time and identify the time you are loading it to with each import. 

If you are loading in more than 1Bn rows of data you need to define what the output is and can you stage and consolidate the input data. Meaning do you need to be able to see every unique transaction from your highest summary level.

Much of this depends on what you are calculating and why?