Formula to populate lime item with months for a selected year

Hello All

I have a Masterfile module that has lines items that use a select function to get the data for a specific month. However, I am now trying to make the module dynamic. This means that the end user can select a year and the module is updated with the months in the selected year. 

I have created a "Masterfile - Time" module were the desired year can be selected but what formula can I use to populate the line items with the months of the selected year? 

Secondly, please find attached an image of the how to the formula is the masterfile uses a LOOKUP function to the Masterfile-Time module.

Please let me know if any further clarification is needed.

Many thanks in advance! 

What formula should i use to get Feb and Mar filled in?What formula should i use to get Feb and Mar filled in?The module looks up on the appropriate month in the Masterfile-Time moduleThe module looks up on the appropriate month in the Masterfile-Time module

Best Answer

• DavidSmith
    Answer ✓

@Sneha 

Assuming Time Jan is a formatted time period:

ADDMONTHS(START(Time Jan)+1)

should do it

However, I'm slightly concerned that you have line items representing each period.  The data might be better being held in a module dimensioned by time. That is more of how Anaplan works (i.e. multi dimensional)

David

Answers

• Could you please elaborate on the purpose of the 'Masterfile - Time.'
  • @Sneha 

From the second screenshot it appears you are trying to pull through revenue data from using the 'Masterfile - Time' module as a mapping the the time period.

If this is correct then the best route to ensure time is matching against the desired cell is to use the time dimension instead of individual line items. 

Does the, 'production financial input.revenue' module contain a time dimension? I assume it does as you are trying to map it across using a time.month formatted line item.