How to Count Text Value based on the Input.

Hi All,

I'm fairly new to Anaplan. I want to count a list item (Model State in Text format) to be able to output its count to my dashboard. The three current inputs are Maintenance, Production, and Unlocked. I want to be able to show on my dashboard how many models are per state. I tried fiddling with the IF function for booleans but to no avail. Any suggestions would be nice. Again, I'm new to Anaplan so please go easy on me. Thanks in advance!

Best Answer

• DavidSmith
    Answer ✓

@CommunityMember88511 @aakash 

We should try avoid two things here:

1. The use of SELECT - Hard coding is not good practice and hinder flexibility and maintenance

2. The use of Text - Text is the least efficient construct in Anaplan

Anaplan works best with List formats, so:

1. Create a list for your Model State and include the three elements, Maintenance, Production, and Unlocked

2. In your Data module, change the format of the Text field to the Model state; you may need to input/import the data again.

3. In a module purely dimensioned by Model (you should have a system module for Model details), add a single line item with the formula 1. This may be the same module as 2. I have assumed the data module is different here

Now the logic can reference the model state using SUM

4. Create a target module dimensioned by Model State (from 1) and create a line item to hold the summary count, the formula would be something like:

Model details.count[SUM:Model data.model State]

I hope that helps

See the following article for more guidance of Module design

Best practice for Module design

David

Answers

• Hi