Anaplan Integration & Anaplan Connect

Hello Community,

I'm reaching again support for some questions I have, some of which may appear silly for some experienced users. I've been trying to find an easy way to obtain Action's ID in Anaplan as those are used for our B2BI integrations with other ERP and EPM systems. Initially, I thought I can easily get them from the page source, but turned out to be more difficult for that. Digging a little bit, I've seen that I can obtain the information I need using Anaplan Connect, but as a non software developer, I find this a bit difficult to use even having the guide available to Anaplan. Here are some of the questions I have. 

- Is any more detailed API quide available through Anaplan discussion for beginners(nothing that I found was straight forward for first time users)?. I only need to understand how to connect to Anaplan Models (export actions ID and export definitions). 

- By updating export definition (ex: change a filter in the export view), will this also change the action ID? Such change I can only do by exporting again and saving export definition with the same name (that is why I'm thinking a new exprt ID will be created).

- Is it possible to update export definitions using the above approach or through Anaplan connect?

Best Answer

• Hi @Alexandru.Rosca 

If you are using only Anaplan Connect, the short answer is: Anaplan Connect works with the names of the actions (like imports, exports, etc..). You do not need to find out the Anaplan internal IDs of the actions. 

The only ID's that you need using Anaplan Connect are workspace and model ID which you can gather them from the HTTP link. 

The ID of the actions you need them only if you are using the REST API and, indeed,  are not so easy to find. You need to launch Anaplan REST API commands. 

below a useful link where you can find how to use Anaplan REST API with "Postman".

https://community.anaplan.com/t5/Best-Practices/RESTful-API-Best-Practices/ta-p/33579