Find the minimum 'Month' across multiple Line Items within the same module

Hi,

Apologies if this doesn't make much sense but I am fairly new to Anaplan.

I have a module with multiple line items, each retrieving a month from other modules (Formatted to Time Period: Month). I would now like another Line Item (within the same module) to calculate the 'MIN' of those line items. Is this possible?

I have tried MIN('Line Item 1', 'Line Item 2', 'Line Item 3') but this comes up with a formatting error (even though it is formatted as Time Period: Month)

Any help would be greatly received.

Regards

Carly

Best Answer

• anikdas
    Answer ✓

Hi @CarlyBond 

Was trying to think of an elegant solution. This actually is a kind of problem where "we need to find the minimum excluding certain values from calculation".

Below is what i could come up with:

• Continuing with my previous solution, Create just one more line item as date formatted. I called it "Blank Day"
    • You can populate this line item with any date greater than the end date of your model timescale

Then use the following formula:

PERIOD(MIN(IF ISBLANK('Line Item 1') THEN 'Blank Day' ELSE START('Line Item 1'), IF ISBLANK('Line Item 2') THEN 'Blank Day' ELSE START('Line Item 2'), IF ISBLANK('Line Item 3') THEN 'Blank Day' ELSE START('Line Item 3')))

This works for the situation when multiple of the line items are blank. If all are blank, this returns blank.

Screenshot 2020-06-19 at 10.39.54 AM.pngScreenshot 2020-06-19 at 10.39.43 AM.png

Hope this helps!

Thanks

Anik

Answers

• Hi Carly,

Create an equivalent number of number formatted line items as the number of month formatted line items
    Use the formula MONTH(Month1LineItem) for the first line item
    MONTH(Month2LineItem) for the second line item and so on

Finally, create a min line item and point it to the newly created number formatted line items.

MIN(MonthNumberLineItem1, MonthNumberLineItem2......)