Issue: Combine 2 columns

RichardG
edited February 2023 in Modeling

Hello all,

I am fairly new to Anaplan and I would need help with one task. I have 2 columns and I would need to create additional 3rd column, where the first 2 are combined. The combination should work as follows: look for a string in one column, if you find the string, assign the string, if its blank assign the value from the other column. Both column A and Column B refer to the same names, but the information in Column A is more accurate, so I'd like to use that one if its available.

Column AColumn BResult
Adam K.AdamAdam K.
Daniel S.DanielDaniel S.
Peter M.PeterPeter M.
 MartinMartin
 AnnaAnna
 EmilyEmily

How can this be achieved in Anaplan please?

Thanks a lot,

Richard

Answers

• @RichardG 

It would be better to not use Text but rather use list formatted line items, but regardless, the formula could be:

if isnotblank(Column A) then Column A else Column B

Rob

• Hello @rob_marshall ,

thank you for the solution. In both columns I actually have list members and when trying out your formula error message displays:

RichardG_0-1608658118059.png

Any suggestion how to approach this?

Thank you!

Best,

Richard

• @RichardG 

Are Columns A and B line items or list members?  Can you take a picture of your blueprint?

• Hi @rob_marshall ,

both column A and B are line items, but the format is list.

RichardG_0-1608671918479.png

The column A in the example is the line item "final mapping" and the column B would be "Center" which is a list member.

Best,

Richard

• @RichardG 

Ok, the reason the formula didn't work is because Column A and Column B are different lists.  So, you will have to use Text for the final result:

if isnotblank(Column A) then name(Column A) else Name(Column B)

or if you use codes in your lists (which you should), it would be:

if isnotblank(Column A) then code(Column A) else code(Column B)

• @rob_marshall ,