We currently have ALM set up between our DEV -> QA and DEV -> PROD models in our workspace. We have 1 DEV and 2 PROD with the same DEV model. So now the Production workspace is almost full, so we are planning to move one of the PROD model into a new workspace. Please confirm if we will still be able to sync any changes made to the DEV model with the PROD model in a new workspace using ALM without disturbing the DEV->QA & DEV- PROD link. Also can you please let me know if production data will be intact or it will get deleted if we move the workspaces.
Please also mention any exception or things to keep in check when we are moving a PROD model to a different workspace.
When you move the model from one workspace to another - it creates a new Revision tag in target model and loses all the prior revision tags. Which means it will break the Sync.
We as model builders can't copy the Revision files/ Revision tags from one WS to another but I believe Anaplan technical team can. You can raise a ticket with Anaplan Support and request them to import the model with all revision tags intact -so that you don't lose the sync and its BAU for you.
I raised a similar support ticket with Anaplan support last year and below was their reply
" From a high level though, the synchronous relationship should not be affected and should work, and the latest revision tag will be carried over once the copy is complete to the new workspace (however, model history will be lost)."
Yep that's true. It carries only the latest Revision tag as soon as you import the model into new workspace and doesn't carry over all the previous revision tags. Just did a POC on this and sync seems to be broken with the Dev. Let's see what @rob_marshall has to say.
If I am understanding you correctly, you are only wanting to move Prod1 to a new workspace, correct? If so, just do a copy of the entire model to the new workspace, no need for a revision or anything like that. When you do that, your ALM will still remain intact.
One more thing, if you have any automation from an external source (Anaplan Connect, SnapLogic, Boomi, Informatica Cloud), then you will need to update the workspace ID as well as the model ID as those have now changed since it is in essence a brand new model.
Workspace 1 has Model A and Model B, which consume 97% of the workspace size.
We want to move Model B to Workspace 2. Example below: BEFORE: Workspace 1 Model A and Model B AFTER: Workspace 1 Model A, Workspace 2 Model B
Will this move break the 'Source Model' connection on the respective pages for Model B?
We think the pages will follow the model, or at worst, we have to relink the pages via the 'Source Model' connection. Example below: BEFORE: Page 1 is linked to Workspace 1 Model B AFTER: Page 1 is linked to Workspace 2 Model B