Statistical Forecasting algorithms into a user specific model

Hi - I am new to Anaplan and I have a quick question:

Let's presume we are to develop a supply chain demand planning module for a client. Since we exactly know what all lists/line items are needed along with the hierarchy and the calculation formulae for different line items, I prefer to have that developed everything from scratch. But I am wondering how I can get the forecasting algorithms into my model - I can see one standard app from Anaplan for weekly statistical forecasting that has 30 models (that model size - 3.34GB) but I don't want to use that app and modify as I am not sure what/how all the dependencies are built there. I prefer to have all the forecasting algorithms in that app imported into my custom model that is being built from scratch - can you please brief how I can get that done? And your thoughts on if that's a cumbersome process and what's the recommended process?

Thanks,

Answers

• If you want all of them I suggest you use the app itself as its own model. Configure it with your products/materials, import your data,run the stats forecasting there and then import the results into your demand planning. You can schedule a daily refresh of data for example. In most cases this is what we do.

If you want to re-create a few stats methods only, then you could open the app, find the module where the calculation for these methods is happening (it is all in one module which I forgot) and redo the calcs into your model.

• @GuruAP 

I really, really like this question. It's very strategic in nature so it's easy to give an opinion. Hopefully, you can use some of these pointers.

First, I really like @nathan_rudman idea on how to use the statistical model in the app hub.

Many implementations I've seen will segregate the forecasting model from the other apps since the forecasts tend to be reused.