In my case, I have a numbered list of projects. this list is not with selective access.
In the properties I've defined a parent for each project. The parent is defined as another list, a list of departments in the organisation.
The list of Departments is with selective access.
If a user creates the excel themselves, they see only the department they are allowed to see. if I create the excel (I have access to every department) and send is to another user they still see the numbers for every department. Even though they are logged in with their user.
Thank you for using the Excel add-in. This is intended behaviour.
When you send the file to someone, you send it with all the data that was in it when you sent it. Your colleague opens it and can see everything. If they log in they still still everything because permissions (model role, selective access, dynamic cell access) are only checked when they click "refresh" or "send and refresh".
If they refresh the sheet, the data will update based on their permission.
I would recommend:
1/ letting them create the file themselves, so permissions are correct from the start
2/ or if you want to create the file, do as you do now and have them refresh the file once. Be aware that formulae linked to the Anaplan data will be affected
3/ or if you want to create the file, do it but by replicating their selective access and then send the file to them. Repeat this for your other colleagues with different selective access.
I hope that helps.
Product Manager - Third party add-ons (Excel add-in, PowerPoint add-in, Google Sheets add-on)