Dashboard example: workforce planning

Problem to solve

As a human resources manager, I need to enter the salary raise numbers for multiple regions for which I am responsible.

As a domain best practice, my driver-based model helps me to enter raise guidelines, which will then change at the employee level.

Usability issue addressed: I have ten regions, eight departments in each, with a total of 10,000+ employees. I need to align my bottom-up plan to the down target I received earlier.

I need to quickly identify which region is above/behind target and address the variance. My driver-based raise modeling is fairly advanced, and I need to see the business rules. I need to quickly see how it impacts the employee level.

Call to action

• Step 1: Spot which region I need to address. 
  • Step 2: Drill into the variances by department
    • Steps 1 & 2 are analytics steps: "As an end user, I focus first on where the biggest issues are." This is a good usability practice that helps users.
  • Step 3: Adjusting the guidelines (drivers)
    • There are not excessive instructions on how to build and use guidelines, which would have cluttered the dashboard. Instead, Anaplan added a "view guideline instruction" button. This button should open a dashboard dedicated to detailed instructions or link to a video that explains how guideline works.

Impact analysis

• The chart above the grid will adjust as guidelines are edited. That is a good practice for impact analysis— no scrolling or clicking needed to view how the changes will impact the plan.
  • Step 4: Review a summary of the variance after changes are made. Putting steps 1–4 close to each other is a usable way of indicating to a user that he/she needs to iterate through these four steps to achieve their objective, which is to have every region and every department be within the top down target.