Add Syntax Highlighting

Add Syntax Highlighting

As a Model Builder, I would like to have "syntax highlighting" when I create my formulas in order to improve readability.

The content in this article has not been evaluated for all Anaplan implementations and may not be recommended for your specific situation.
Please consult your internal administrators prior to applying any of the ideas or steps in this article.
15 Comments
Community Manager

Jeremy,

Thanks for the idea and screenshot.  We are moving your idea to 'acknowledged'.  We encourage the Community to provide addtional feedback and support for the idea.  

Status changed to: Needs Community Support
New Contributor

I can't stress enough how important this would be to all model builders on the team. I would only like to point out that while the colorful highlighting is nice to have, the ability to add new line & indent while reading or editing the formula (similarly to how formulas are currently displayed when using Drill Down) would drastically improve readability by itself. This would be a huge quality of life improvement as going back to edit/read/understand/rewrite lengthy formulas would become much easier.

Community Manager

Status changed to: Under Investigation
Community Boss

This is also on my personal wishlist.  Something to be able to more easily read through nested IF statements, and other more complex formulas would be great.  I also really want the indention that is shown in the screenshot.  Here is my personal screenshot for what it's worth.

Anaplan - Formula Syntax.PNG

Occasional Contributor

Fully agree with this huge improvement even we recommand to limit the length of formula in some case we can do differently.

Contributor

100% agree with Jeremy and David.  Imagine reading a book on a continuous scroll, with all of the paragraph and

line breaks removed.  That's the best analogy I can think of for the current editor.

Occasional Contributor