Register

Copy Model also copies Audit Log History

Copy Model also copies Audit Log History

When you copy a model, it would be nice if the model's full history log was also copied instead of being reset in the new model.

A couple times in the past year we have needed to copy and deploy production models from existing production models in order to handle high-risk updates being pushed from our development model. In doing so, when the copied model was put into production, and the previous model was archived, our model history was reset in the newly deployed production model.

This creates an issue with user requests for audit history, which requires us to un-archive former production models to search for points in history prior to the model copying. Or worse, a copied model may be deleted instead of archived, in which case all history prior to that model being copied is then lost.

Hopefully this is a solution that is quick to implement, as it would be a nice feature to reduce a few headaches as model builders!

10 Comments
helennie
Certified Master Anaplanner

This would also be helpful for situations where models need to be moved across workspaces, as the model history is lost in the copy.

CallumW
Certified Master Anaplanner

@DavidEdwards  - agree this would be a great improvement, very frustrating to lose all audit history!

Miran
Community Manager
 
Status changed to: Your support is needed
Michelle Sutherland
Certified Master Anaplanner

@DavidEdwards  I agree this would be a useful feature

alexpavel
Certified Master Anaplanner

yes.. it would be really nice to be able to create a complete snapshot of a model, including the history information. 

Tiffany.Rice
Certified Master Anaplanner

Perhaps this could be an optional feature?  Such as when you copy a module, you are given the option to include the saved views.  We've had instances where we would want to keep the history but also those where we would not.

DavidEdwards
Certified Master Anaplanner

@Tiffany.Rice I like your thinking. More flexibility for the model builder = happier model builders!

CommunityMember115752
New Contributor

I agree this is a necessary feature.  We had an instance where we needed to rollback production data to a point before recent structual changes were made.  The only solution was to put our deployed model out of deployed mode and create a new copy of our dev model, which meant we lost all our dev model history.  This kind of breaks the principle of separation structural and production data.

 

Gwen.pryor
Regular Contributor
 
Status changed to: Under Investigation
m.angeles11
Certified Master Anaplanner

Love this idea and also the suggestion by @Tiffany2510 to make this an optional thing so that the model builder has control and can copy or not copy the history depending on the circumstances.