Secure actions using saved views

As a model builder i would need an added security layer regarding the interaction between actions mapping definitions using saved views that would prevent saved views being changed or deleted once it is defined in an action.

This added security would then allow a user to either :

-  create another saved view if needed for other uses

- actions to be deleted (in case the action is not used anymore)

- modify the action to refer to another saved view before proceeding to changing the saved view

My reasoning here is that we currently have great security that prevent model builder from running havoc in the model structure including : 

- deleting modules or line items that are referenced within other parts of the model

- deleting lists that are referenced in the model

- deleting actions that are part of an existing process

All of these require model builder to make extra steps to prevent model structure to become inconsistent

Yet, when it comes to actions and saved views, nothing is preventing a model builder to remove or alter a saved view, which will in term make the action malfunctioning or not working at all

Simple Warning wouldnt be sufficient from my stand as actions are key parts of the model at the sale criticity level as other parts (lists and modules).

This would save a lot of our users feeling anaplan models being prone to malfunctioning.

2 votes

New · Last Updated

Comments

Get Started with Idea Exchange

See our Submission Guidelines and Idea Evaluation Criteria, then start posting your own ideas and showing support for others!