VBA/macros for Excel Add-In

As a model builder I would like VBA and macros to be supported in the Excel Add-In so that I could further automate workbooks.

For example :

1) I would like to be able to create VBA code and macros for the various Anaplan actions so that I could automate a number of tasks (eg Login and refresh data) through macros

Alessio_Pagliano_0-1589262208465.png

2) I would like to be able to understand, write and use Anaplan functions within a worksheet to dynamically create code to retrieve & write back functions. Below is a screenshot with my assumed, partial and most probably wrong understanding on how some of it works at the moment.

I basically tried to test my understanding writing a new CHOOSE function to retrieve other values, and it didn't work...I must have completely misintepreted how it could work 🙂

Alessio_Pagliano_1-1589264401939.png

The purpose of this idea is mainly to understand if & how the community could benefit from these type of enhancements. 

Personal thoughts : from my point of view the potential application could be beneficial for different types of data reconciliation. Having said that, this could all be done within Anaplan itself and I'm tempted to think it could be better to create ad-hoc developments there or maybe raise specific Ideas for new Anaplan functionality to support these type of requirements ? 

38 votes

In Review · Last Updated

Comments

• @Alessio_Pagliano 

Awesome idea. I share the same sentiment.

I think we should set up a demo mtg with @MagaliP at some point so she can see the specific use-cases for how we would use this.

My most popular use case is to take the user stories out of the Anaplan Way App into Excel. From there, I use VBA to reformat the data. Lastly, I wrote PowerPoint VBA to generate one slide per user story. Here's a sanitized example below:

StoryBoard.png

• Status changed to: In Review
  • Hi @JaredDolich ,