Formula for Range of value

Hi 

I am a beginner in Anaplan usage and trying to setup a simple module to track the age buckets of our assets. I defined a general list which contains the asset id, age in years of the asset and location of the asset.  I am trying to populate the age range of the asset in the age bucket column. If the asset age is less than 1 year,then the age bucket will be >1. If the age is between 1 and 2 years, then the range will be 1>2 and so on. 

I have setup the age bucket column  as text format.My question is how to populate the age range?

Is there any formula for that function?

Any pointer would be much appreciated.

Comments

• Hi,

Can you elaborate a bit more? For example how many age buckets do you have and what are the ranges?

The most simple way to form a string is to have a formula like this:

IF Age < 1 THEN "<1" ELSE IF Age > 1 AND Age < 2 THEN "1>2" ELSE ""  etc

This works if you have only a few age buckets which can be put into the conditional statement of the formula. If you have lots of age buckets, you can also try to build more dynamic formula if possible.  For example:

IF Age < 1 THEN "<1" ELSE TEXT(ROUND(Age, 0, DOWN)) & "<" & TEXT(ROUND(Age, 0, UP))

This would always result in two subsequent integers (1.5 would lead to "1<2" and 3.7 would result "3<4").

If you plan to make formulas or logic around age buckets, consider making the age bucket property list formatted and create a list named "age bucket" with members "<1", "1<2" etc. Then your formula would look something like this:

IF Age < 1 THEN Age Bucket.'<1' ELSE IF Age > 1 AND Age < 2 THEN Age Bucket.'1>2' ELSE BLANK

With finditem function you could make this option more dynamic.

• Hello

Thanks a lot for your help here. 

We have 6 types of age buckets. I followed your suggestion to have the age bucket property list formatted and defined a list for Age Bucket and used below formula to populate the age bucket in Asset table.