Don't set all lists to production initially. Setting a list back to Structural (after a synchronize) will remove data from the existing production list even if the members are the exact same
Best Practices articles:
Questions on this topic? See 6.02-01 Define Production lists before the first sync in our Planual forum.
Prepare Applications for ALM
ALM Explained—Part 3: Avoiding Data Loss