Mentorship: Tips for creating self-sufficient Anaplanners

AlejandroGomez
edited June 2023 in Blog

Author: Alejandro Gomez Sanchez, Certified Master Anaplanner, and Principal Consultant at Mentat Technology.

Introduction

I have been working as Anaplan consultant since January 2015. Before that — probably like many of you — my mind was arranged in a way that two-dimensional tables made perfect sense, while multidimensional cubes, and how to connect data between them, posed a bit of a challenge.

After some years, having acquired some experience and a few tricks up my sleeve, I started helping others to better understand and make the most out of Anaplan — and have fun along the way. I became actively involved in the Anaplan Community, helping colleagues and customers get certified and take control of their own Anaplan models. It was also an honor to have served as a mentor in official Anaplan training programs and various roles I’ve held.

As Anaplan gained more relevance in the market, I got to interact with more colleagues, customers, and beginners, and a couple of common themes emerged on how I could best serve as a mentor to help people become more self-sufficient. Today, I would like to share these lessons with you — I hope they're useful if you are in the early stages of your Anaplan journey.

Mentorship tips on helping to create self-sufficient Anaplanners

1. A universe of accessible and useful resources, if you know how to navigate them.

One of the first lessons I learned and that I’ve passed along to others, is that I no longer need to create my own slides or material from scratch to support explanations. Anaplan, through its learning platform, Enablement Team, and Community members have created myriads of clear, accurate, and extremely valuable explanations on any possible topic, from several perspectives. I’ve learned I can point people to the right resources in many cases.