Changing production models: corporate psychology vs. customer satisfaction

Options
JaredDolich
edited October 2023 in Blog

Author: Jared Dolich is a Certified Master Anaplanner and Partner and Founder at Retailitix.

Consider this cartoon from Clowncurls.

Maybe a bit exaggerated but sadly not too far from how Anaplan change requests come in. The question is how should you respond?

Long ago I was a service desk manager for a 5000-store retailer, and we received 900,000 contacts per year from store associates, customers, and corporate employees. Fortunately, I was exposed to the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) and Lean Six Sigma (LSS), to help ensure quality responses to most of these contacts such as incidents, problems, and service requests.

I am fond of a concept from LSS that, to this day, is predominantly used by most IT organizations which is to create a 2x2 impact effort matrix regarding how to prioritize service requests. The Anaplan Way uses the same approach as part of the planning poker and sprint review. It would look something like the chart below, but instead of effort, we’ll replace that with YOUR tolerance and discipline to best practices.

The key to your response to any production change is understanding customer expectations. So, let’s assume your goal with any Anaplan change is customer satisfaction. In that light, let’s shine intense beams at each quadrant of this 2x2 grid and see what consequences manifest.

But first..

I want to mention all the Anaplan best practices related to production changes here to be thorough. I won’t go into detail of each one, rather leave that to you to look them up or refresh your understanding.

Did I mention testing?

Awesome. Now let’s look at the four quadrants with our best practices in mind.