The Age of Anaplan

business-accounting-concept-business-man-using-calculator-with-and-picture-id1178916772 (1).jpgYou have probably heard this at least once recently from a co-worker, a friend, or maybe even a heartfelt marketing email from your favorite big-box retailer:

“We are living in unprecedented times.”

While that is definitely true, the reality is that our businesses often face unprecedented disruptions and changes. Now more than ever the ability to pivot from one plan to another is critical for navigating these challenges in a timely manner. I have been using Anaplan for close to eight years in different finance roles, and it has regularly saved me weeks of spreadsheet work in a single month.

For those that already use Anaplan, what I am describing is not a surprise, but what I’m hoping to highlight are some of Anaplan’s features that finance organizations can maximize for when those unprecedented times hit.

Take advantage of having a connected plan in one system. This spring, when the pandemic sent a lot of us to work from home, many finance teams realized that they suddenly had a new top priority: update forecast, annual plans, and any other projections that might be affected by this sudden and dramatic change. For those of us using Anaplan, the good news is that we likely had a complete financial plan in the system. As a result, instead of updating dozens of disconnected spreadsheets, we could utilize Anaplan to quickly build out adjustments dashboards to do scenario modeling without having to start from scratch. With a little retrofitting (more on that below!), the new scenarios could be hooked up to existing dashboards without disrupting end users.