Add Syntax Highlighting

As a Model Builder, I would like to have "syntax highlighting" when I create my formulas in order to improve readability.

Tagged:
219 votes

Delivered · Last Updated

Comments

• Jeremy,

Thanks for the idea and screenshot.  We are moving your idea to 'acknowledged'.  We encourage the Community to provide addtional feedback and support for the idea.  

• I can't stress enough how important this would be to all model builders on the team. I would only like to point out that while the colorful highlighting is nice to have, the ability to add new line & indent while reading or editing the formula (similarly to how formulas are currently displayed when using Drill Down) would drastically improve readability by itself. This would be a huge quality of life improvement as going back to edit/read/understand/rewrite lengthy formulas would become much easier.

• Status changed to: Delivered
  • This is also on my personal wishlist.  Something to be able to more easily read through nested IF statements, and other more complex formulas would be great.  I also really want the indention that is shown in the screenshot.  Here is my personal screenshot for what it's worth.

Anaplan - Formula Syntax.PNG

• Fully agree with this huge improvement even we recommand to limit the length of formula in some case we can do differently.

• 100% agree with Jeremy and David.  Imagine reading a book on a continuous scroll, with all of the paragraph and

line breaks removed.  That's the best analogy I can think of for the current editor.

• Hi everyone

It will be helpful to have the arguments of a formula in a bubble (see the screenshot) while using that formula into the formula bar (much like in Excel). This will make understanding and learning easy.

Regards,

Patrick